Sign Petition to Reduce the City’s Speed Limit to 25MPH
The Stockade Association
stockade walkabout with photo of old home behind

Stockade Walkabout 2022

Join us for the 2022 Stockade Walkabout.  This fall house tour in Schenectady’s Historic Stockade provides an opportunity to step inside some of the unique homes in New York State’s first historic district.  

The 58th Stockade Walkabout is Saturday September 24, 2022, 11am to 5pm

walkabout-photos-norht-ferry

17 North Ferry Street

17 North Ferry Street: The current property contains two historic structures. The older section (rear) was erected ca. 1719 by the Jan Mabie family behind their village house and initially served as a smithy. This structure features typical Dutch A-frame construction with original hardwood frame. The exposed surfaces showcase the hand-hewn columns and beams with peg joinery.

In 1768, Myndert Wemple replaced the earlier Mabie house with a colonial style building (front) connecting to the existing smithy.

Beginning in 1955, further edifications were made by Fiebes & Schmitt architects. Federal style enhancements were performed on the facade, while interior layouts and finishes may be best classified as mid-century modern.

We welcome you to step into this unique space and observe the 300+ years of architectural craftsmanship presented by the house.

walkabout-photos-norht-ferry

17 Front Street

17 Front Street: The Governor Yates House, build in 1760, was once the home of Gov. Joseph Yates. It was built by Tobias Van Eyck and designed by Samuel Fuller.

walkabout-photos-norht-ferry

25 Washington Avenue

25 Washington Avenue is the Giles Clute House and it was built in 1820 after the great fire of 1819. The current owners, John and Lucy Halstead, are the sixth owners following the Clutes, Schermerhorns, Crislers, Naylons and McDonalds.

It is a federal style home that has been modernized but contains many original features. Original features include wide wood plank floors, plaster walls, 6 fireplaces, pocket doors and the center hall staircase. The first level contains a beautiful kitchen along with a sitting room, a parlor, a dining room, a half bath and an enclosed porch. The entrance hallway contains paintable embossed wallpaper, a popular style in the 1800’s. Three bedrooms two full baths, the laundry and a Library are on the second floor. The third floor was home to GE women factory workers during World War II.

John and Lucy consider themselves current conservators of the house so future generations can enjoy its comfort and beauty in its Stockade future. The First Floor will be open for the Walkabout this year.

walkabout-photos-norht-ferry

32 Front Street

32 Front Street: Known as the John W. Teller House, a builder who extensively renovated it in 1816, this was also the House of Captain Phillip Schuyler (1703-1724) the First Commandant of Queen Anne’s Fort and, c. 1748-1785, the house of Col. Christopher Yates, leader of the Sons of Liberty, Chairman of the Committee of Safety. Come see a fabulous 15-year restoration by architect Robert Woods.

This house has seen many additions and transformations over the years. From the 1700’s Basement with cooking fireplace and crane to the 1800’s Living Room with Federal fireplace and mantel and 14” wide wood plank floors. Robert’s renovations have transformed the back of the house into a series of sleek open spaces that provide unobstructed views to the luscious backyard garden.

walkabout-photos-norht-ferry

205 Union Street

205 Union Street: 205 Union Street: The Sanders-Ellice House, 1765-1772, is a Georgian and Second Empire style home currently undergoing a full historic restoration. The home features a recently discovered original rusticated wood weatherboard exterior -- including hand-carved window pediments cut to look like stone blocks. Combined with the remaining “modern” Victorian elements in vogue at the end of the 19th century, the home greatly speaks to the evolution of building tastes seen in the Stockade in its 300+ year history.

Christopher Marney and Chris White purchased the home in November 2019 to undertake a full interior and exterior restoration of this historic jewel. It has served as a home to several wealthy families, a boarding house, a visiting nurses association and most recently, a bed and breakfast.

Come explore the archeological and architectural finds discovered within. The restoration has so far uncovered original fireplaces, original moldings, wide-plank floorboards and myriad artifacts dating to the 1700s – all of which will be on display. This includes clay pipes, buttons, hundreds of pieces of broken pottery and glass, animal bones of all shapes and sizes, bottles, clam shells, oyster shells and nails.

Follow along on Facebook and Instagram: @SchenectadyRestorationProject

walkabout-photos-norht-ferry

125 North College Street

125 North College Street: (owner Mary Zawacki and partner RJ Graves): This gable-front brick home, which dates to c. 1850, is a quaint Greek Revival worker’s cottage. The house was likely built by Henry Fritcher (b. 1787), or his daughter, Helen Fritcher and her husband Henry Yates, a laborer. Prior to this, the land was pastures owned by Henry and Peter Clute, whose stately brick house remains next door. Excluding the last decade, this home was inhabited by just three Schenectady families in its nearly two century history. Many children of Polish and German immigrants were raised within its two bedrooms. The house also functioned briefly as a boarding house in the 1800s.

An extensive renovation took place recently, resulting in a completely refinished second level with bamboo floors and new sheetrock, and a large, updated kitchen featuring hardwood floors and nearly floor-to-ceiling windows. These renovations contrast with the 19th century mouldings, plaster, floors, and doors in the living and dining rooms. Additionally, the current owner converted a large closet into a cozy den in 2021. The small side-yard is a rarity in the Stockade, meaning the southeast side of the house is filled with sunlight all day. The current owner is working on bringing back the garden and yard from a decade of neglect, and welcome suggestions for native flowers that might thrive here!

The owner enjoys collecting regional 18th and early 19th century furniture, and these pieces are displayed and utilized throughout the home, contrasted with more modern bohemian art and decorative items, and plenty of houseplants. The result is a warm and simple home with plenty of space for creative endeavors.

previous arrow
next arrow

 

The Walkabout will also feature music and costumed characters, new exhibits at the Schenectady County Historical Society and exhibits of artifacts left behind by early residents.

Enjoy a fall stroll through Schenectady’s original settlement nestled along the Mohawk River.

Buy Tickets Now

WHEN and WHERE TO PURCHASE TICKETS

Tickets will be on sale through Friday, Sept 23. Purchase through the online link (below), or at:

  • Schenectady County Historical Society, 32 Washington Avenue, Schenectady, NY (Cash, Checks and Credit Card)
  • Felthousen’s Florist – 1537 Van Antwerp Rd., Niskayuna (Cash or Checks Only)
  • Kulak’s Nursery – 1615 Rt. 146, Rexford (Cash or Checks Only)
  • Open Door Bookstore – 128 Jay Street, Schenectady (Cash or Checks Only)

For more information, call our partners at Schenectady County Historical Society at (518) 374-0263, ext. 5

TICKET PRICES

  • Adult Advance tickets: $20
  • Adult Day Of (Sept. 24): $25
  • Student Day Of (Sept. 24): $10

Buy Tickets Now

IMPORTANT WALKABOUT TICKET INFORMATION

On the day of the Walkabout, bring your ticket voucher (purchase confirmation or confirmation email) to the Schenectady County Historical Society, 32 Washington Ave. in the Stockade Historic District. There, you will pick up your wristband and tour map, which gives you entry to all participating houses and venues.

There will be no refunds. The Walkabout will be held rain or shine.